Pride Lives Next Door

IMG_20151228_105723Pride Lives Next Door
(Janet Moore 1/8/10)

You speak of pride
As if she were unknown in my sphere
Unfamiliar and distant to me
However I do declare that I know her quite well
Since there were numerable times
When she was my very close ally
A close friend who was loyal and true
Until I met my confidante humility

My old friend pride is strong and persistent
Astute and wily as a snake
She lives next door in seclusion
Waiting for a chance to comfort
To aid and abet if needed
In times of great distress
Quietly asserting and inserting herself
When repentance is hard and so humiliating

Humility lives in an upscale neighbourhood
Very near to the heart of God
A place where traffic is not congested
Since few are willing to pay the requisite rental
Or assume the astronomical mortgage
For such a preferred location
So mediocrity moves in next door to pride
And the neighbourhood abound with unwanted guests

You speak of pride
As if she were unknown in my sphere
Look closely and observe keenly
Sometimes she is not obnoxious nor pompous
She is known to assume a low-profiled dignified stance
But she holds a rare and distinctive bias
She refuses to live near humility
To avoid her, move near to the heart of God

Leave a Reply

